Classic Film Club

MPAA Ratings


Formed in 1968 by the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA), the Classification and Ratings Administration (CARA) includes a board of parents who classify films based on factors such as language, sex, violence, drug use and other themes they believe are of significant concern to most parents.

The CARA rules are enforced by the National Association of Theater Owners (NATO) by requiring identification when needed and refusing admission when necessary. NATO also requires films it screens to be rated, in most cases.

CARA is independently funded by the fees it charges film companies to rate films.

The rating categories are:

  • G rating
  • PG rating
  • PG-13 rating
  • MPAA R rating
  • NC-17 rating

MPAA Ratings: G

MPAA Ratings: